Just another WordPress.com site

Flash Animation Techniques and Tutorials

Flash Tweening

Initially when I began researching for information on Flash animation, I was relying on some sources that were very limited and not so useful. An example is this website http://www.w3schools.com/flash/flash_tweening.asp which provides information on the bare basics of Flash, but is lacking effective content such as images to support the text.

However, I felt there probably are some useful and more detailed tutorials than this and searched more until I came across this website http://www.cartoonsmart.com/classic_motion_tweening_tutorial.php5  This website has a detailed video Tutorial on tweening which is essential in animation. It covers other techniques such as the Ease-in/out which allows the user to tweak the motion. I have found this useful as it allowed me to rely less on the amount of frames used. In the process of creating my animation, as I was using Flash CS5, I had noticed some differences in the tween types when compared to Flash CS3, particularly the Motion Tween. Futhermore, the tutorial explains how to apply Filter effects (glow, colour adjust, alpha) which is handy when you want the make slight changes to the appearance of an image. An example of using Filter effects in my animation is where I have added a glow to an image.

Another useful tutorial I have found within the same website http://www.cartoonsmart.com/shape_tweening_tutorial.php5, is based on shape tweening, and although I have not used this type of tweening, I have bookmarked this tutorial as I may need it in the near future.

Bone Tool

I found this to be a great tool and very effective in creating advanced animation, this tutorial http://www.cartoonsmart.com/inverse_kinematics.php5 was a very good example in putting it into use.

Leave a Reply

