Just another WordPress.com site

Rationale – Old

Name of dissertation: Virtual Reality Can Challenge the Concept of Reality – Telepresence, Virtual Artifact and Simulation

The decision to base the dissertation on virtual reality was to explore how another reality could co-exist with actual reality. During this process I have realized that reality is not just challenged through cyberspace and social networks but could also be challenged through many forms of art or photography and other media.

When an individual views a painting or a piece of art, they depict the reality he/she perceives through their own eyes. This leads me to wanting to pursue digital art for the module Independent Practice. The type of digital art that I have looked into and am interested in is the combination of organic material with artificial material.

I have looked at various artist’s work, such as Benedict Campbell who combines the human body and machinery to achieve a stylized look, his talent to make something unreal look real is what inspires me. I like how his subjects will look fully look human but they have exposed sections to show the artificial mechanism inside, which hints that the person is actually a robot. Another artist that inspires me is Julian Beever who creates 3D street art. It is not the approach I want to take but it fascinates me to see how 3D art can go to the extent of looking real.

I feel that I’d like to go in a similar direction to Benedict Campbell but with a different approach. I will substitute a human model for toys and combine them with machinery and mechanical parts and/or take photographs of architecture and combine them with other forms of architecture/surroundings photographs, e.g. a tear in a building wall that shows another building/reality (a ripple in time and space). I want to create hyper-real art to challenge the way reality as a concept is perceived. I wish to combine reality with digital enhancement to create photo-realistic images. An example to justify this could be an individual applying makeup to enhance the features they have, where as others could argue that natural beauty should prevail more than the ‘enhancement’ of makeup.

I will create various still images because I want to combine 3D art/modelling and digital manipulation at the same time. This will require me to rig the 3D model and position it according to the nature of its surroundings and I will position the model so that it appears to be alive. I will also research using various books, magazines and online sources to understand how to bring a model to life by studying the effective techniques to create a character. When using ‘living’ subjects I will possibly challenge the character with a difficult situation to bring it to life and give it meaning. I believe if I use pain as the theme then this would definitely grab the observers attention. My work will be aimed at audiences of age 16 and above.

Books

Miller, C. H. (2004) Digital Storytelling A Creator’s Guid To Interactive Entertainment, Burlington: Elsevier.

Thomson Learning Inc. (2007) Maya Character Modeling & Animation Principles and Practices, Massachusetts: Charles River Media.

Magazines

Dean, D. (2012) Imagine FX: Fantasy & Sci-fi Digital Art, Bath, Future Publishing Limited.

Hill, R. (2012) 3D World, Bath, Future Publishing Limited.

Websites

3D World. 2012. Tutorials [Online](Updated 11 Oct 2012)Available at http://www.3dworldmag.com/category/tutorials/ (Accessed 11 October 2012)

Imagine FX: Fantasy & Sci-fi Digital Art. 2012. Workshops [Online](Updated 11 Oct 2012)Available at http://www.imaginefx.com/-2287754330326480692/Workshops.html (Accessed 11 October 2012)

Leave a Reply

