Just another WordPress.com site

Source Images and UV Textures

Source Images Firstly I have gathered materials to be used as source images when creating the texture for the UV mapping of the cardboard figurine. The image below I considered using as a texture for the figurine but there are too many imperfections like creasing and discolouring. If I was to produce a seamless texture using the image below it would look unusually repetitive. So I chose to move on and find another cardboard texture that would produce a ‘seamless’ seamless texture without the unusual repetition.

cardboard_5

The image below I found whilst searching for a flawless seamless texture. It has worked well when I duplicated it in Photoshop to create a seamless texture. I mainly chose the texture below for the graininess. At first I applied it to the entire UV map at 50% over the other textures. I found that this applied the desired effect I wanted on some UV’s more than others so I split the texture into two partitions – partition 1: cardboard body = 50% opacity; partition 2: metal texture on the head, the gun arm and metal joints = 10% opacity.

Cardboard_Brown_Paper_Texture_by_Enchantedgal_Stock

The texture below I replicated and made a seamless texture and it was the base for the cardboard texture. I applied this texture only on the UV for the cardboard body. At first I used the above texture as the base at 50% as I painted another base layer in Photoshop and applied the texture below on top in the soft light mode at 80% opacity to only apply a soft cardboard lines texture rather than the colour. I felt that this did not look realistic and looked very cartoony…and I think that was due to the layer I painted underneath. I had to remove the painted layer and work with the photo images of cardboard textures to make the cardboard figure look realistic. I kept the painted layer for the gun because I thought that stayed true to the colour I desired for the metal material. I changed the grainy texture for partition 1 to 100% and left partition 2 unaltered. This provided me with a realistic cardboard base and allowed me to changed the line texture to 30% from 50%.

texturise_cardboard_texture_0003-2

I used the image below as a reference when painting the outline of ripped texture on the face of the cardboard figurine. Other than that I didn’t use this texture for any parts of the UV map.

ndkUWsq

The image below is for the bump mapping but it didn’t seem to work well when added as a bump map. It either looked flat and had no effect or it affected the cardboard texture by creating unusual bumps that cardboards don not have. Hence I did not use this at all.

Tileable metal scratch rust texture (17)

Below are 3 UV textures I’ve tried and the third one is the one that works best to make my figurine look the most realistic through the use of texture. I’ve also taken screen grabs of the layers in Photoshop and labelled them as they’ve been altered.

UV Texture: Attempt 1

cardboard_uv_new_jpeg

crdbx 1

UV Texture: Attempt 2

cardboard_uv_new_jpeg2

crdbx 2

UV Texture: Attempt 3/4

cardboard_uv_new_jpeg3

crdbx 3-4

Leave a Reply

