Just another WordPress.com site

Animation Reference

I’ve been looking for videos on YouTube and websites like Reference Reference for animation walk references. I was looking for a male walk cycle because my character is masculine so it would have to walk like a masculine person. Below is the walk cycle that I have used to animate Aloisius the cardboard figurine.

I ripped the YouTube reference video, sped the footage up to real time in After Effects and exported it as a JPEG sequence.

walk cycle

I then applied it to a plane in Maya and trimmed the footage cycle as required e.g. from right foot contact to left foot contact and back to right foot contact again. When I play the animation it would be on a loop so it is important that the first foot contact and the last foot contact are the same. After examining the footage, using the reference below I noted down the key frames that best matched the necessary positions.

Walk Key Frames Notes:

FRAME 1 CONTACT
FRAME 5 DOWN
FRAME 8 PASSING
FRAME 11 UP
FRAME 14 CONTACT
FRAME 17 DOWN
FRAME 21 PASSING
FRAME 24 UP
FRAME 27 CONTACT

Leave a Reply

